A Little Perspective From Tom Church

I’m always trying to do fifty things at once, and these things fall under a more crafty, and also more ‘inferior’ (by most people’s standards), priority.

What I mean by this is:

  • I’ve got a Word doc pulled up right now, with a full nineteen pages written out for a novel I’m working on.
  • I’ve got a couple of tabs up for Erin, since her birthday’s coming up.
  • I’ve also got a handiwork-type project I’m giving her, in the making.
  • I’m reading Jurassic Park; it’s right beside me, on the little glass porch table. (I’m outside, it’s beautiful)
  • I make comics relentlessly while in school.
  • I’ve got iTunes up, because I’m downloading a shit ton of music.
  • I’m writing a blog post.

I balance these things rather well, mind you. I keep good grades, and I know my way around my subjects, and I’ve got two applications for lifeguarding jobs pending.

What I really wanna talk about is: comics.

I love comic strips, and these range from clean to vulgar. I like Calvin and Hobbes, The Far Side, Foxtrot, Pearls Before Swine, Speed Bump, Agnes, Red and Rover, and even webcomics like Cyanide and Happiness or Toothpaste for Dinner.

I don’t consider myself a great comic writer; I don’t really consider myself much of a great anything. But I like trying at all sorts of things, and if that means I’m doodling clever little dialogue-based stickmen all day, and then shaping it all up at home, then I’m happy.

Erin says they’re alright, some good, some just bad. Other people have given me very blatant praise, and I’m happy for the encouragement. It makes me feel absolutely great.

To some of those people, and to anyone else, here’s maybe the most clever, and certainly a very edgy, comic I’ve made and rebuffed. It almost looks like legitimate web-comic material:

How’s it look? Not too bad, eh?

I asked Erin today about a “sister blog” type page, where I’d put any comics I’ve created into a daily (or simply chronological), page-turning collection. She told me it’d probably be better and wiser to keep everything on Aestheism, as to not divide attention, which I understand. I’m not going to post comics very often at all on Aestheism, for two reasons:

1) That ^ is very obviously not aesthetic, beauty-seeking material.
2) For organization’s sake. It’d be impossible to find them if they’re cluttered in random, scattered posts.

So! If anyone’s ever burning with the desire to see one of my comics, shoot me an email (my address is thom.caulfield@yahoo, it’s on the home page) or comment, and request one. I may just put one up!

-Thom
aestheism, not atheism.

Comments on: "Comics and Me (Thom’s Thoughts)" (1)

  1. if they are made by you and youre sense of humour I wana SEE ALL THE COMICS!!!!

Leave a Reply

