A Little Perspective From Tom Church

Today, Erin and her friend Casey are having a birthday party…!

..They don’t know how many people are coming. In between 20 and 70. So, yeah…

We’re playing musical chairs with kid chairs, and… blowing bubbles…

Well, anyways! It should be fun. I’m looking forward to it.

I was talking with Erin the other day, her and her family, about bad names for kids. And I started thinking hard about it once the conversation ended. I still participated in conversation, but this is my mind and my mouth combined:

Hannah (Erin’s little sister): Don’t call me Ham, okay?! Stop!
Tom: Okay, I don’t even like it (ULYSSES) that much! It’s your mom and Erin!
Erin: Haaaaaaam….
Hannah: STOP! Tom, make them stop or I’m calling you Brawn from now on!
Tom: (REGINA) Yeah, okay, I… I’ll go home and google nicknames for Han- (ZEKE) nah, that are monosyllab- (BAXTER) ic.

So I did google nicknames for Hannah. They were all terrible.

While I was at it, I looked at a list of boy names online.

Some weird ones:

Adin
Adonis
Aja (It means goat.)
Ajay
Dale
Darcy
Dedrick
Dejon
Ibraham
Indiana
Kajol
Kameron (Not too bad, but it means Crooked Nose)
Odalis
Ola
Olson (I sort of like it, but it means Son of Ole. [???])
Osvaldo (Joke)
Quintus
Taj
Tary
Talon
Umberto

Of course, there are many, many bad names for your child. But these are pretty weird. I mean, really. Ola? That sounds like the name of one of your bones.

-Thom

Leave a Reply

